top of page

Our Projects

In the past 15 years, "Stop Poverty"; has launched or supported various projects.  These projects were deployed in numerous developing countries such as India, Thailand, Indonesia and North Africa.

Donations &
Experiences

Yogyakarta, Indonesia

Merapi volcano in Yogyakarta Indonesia. Frightened residents in the active city of Yogyakarta, population 400,000, at the foot of the mountain and volcano Merapi rumbled several times, with residents boarding buses and trains to find shelter with family and friends in distant cities. Concerns about ash clouds caused many international airlines to cancel flights to the capital Jakarta. This came just days before former US President Barack Obama was scheduled to visit Indonesia. Merapi volcano, one of the world's most active volcanoes, has erupted many times over the past 100 years, claiming more than 1,400 victims. But the eruption in November, was the most tragic so far since 1930, claiming over 100 lives. The city of Yogyakarta was placed on the highest alert, the city serving as a conduit for the deadly streams of lava and mud, supported by heavy rains, which reached speeds of 100 km/h and destroyed everything in their path. By this time, a thick layer of volcanic mud had already flooded a quarter of the nearby river and was rising by the hour. Nearly 280,000 people living on the slopes of the volcano were housed in emergency shelters - many without the ability to wash or use the toilet.

vulkan_02.jpg

Education for mountain children, India

Education is a vital key to combating extreme poverty and providing a way out for the affected children. Through this programme, the children are provided with special attention and the problem of dropouts in schools is minimised, also slower students are given adequate support to get the opportunity to improve subject knowledge. The project benefits tribal children from 16 tribal villages of the Palanimalai Hills region who have been victims of violence, orphaned, rejected or neglected by parents and have never known intact family structures in the form of love and warmth. Each of these families will receive a goat which will provide them with economic support and security, similar to the Nobel Prize winning Micro Credit project. Following the project, the families will be able to partially finance themselves.

hilltribe.jpg

Project "Mini Van", Thailand

The Father Ray Children's Village, based on the concept of SOS Children's Villages, opened its doors in early 2008 with the aim of providing a home for poor, destitute, abused and abandoned children. In the Village, the children live together with other children in what we consider a normal family environment. The children are supported and cared for by specially trained staff. With the help of this environment, the children are offered a perspective that provides space for personal development and family support. Since the beginning of the project, 26 children have moved into their new home, of which 22 have already been placed in various schools. In 2008, four houses were already built, followed by another four houses in 2009 to provide a home for another 26-30 children. At the moment there is only one van for the whole foundation, another vehicle would make it much easier to travel back and forth to the surrounding schools.

mini_van.jpg

Medicines, Africa

Leishmaniasis is rampant in many countries in Africa, which means that the people - most of them nomads - are infested with sand fleas during the summer months. Since suitable hygiene and medication are simply too expensive, an acquaintance from Morocco asked Michel for help. The company Adtension GmbH immediately donated 200 Euros, which we were able to hand over in May 2012. Due to the heat, the medicines will only be bought and administered in late summer. On this day we were able to bring a lot of joy. Many thanks again to Adtension GmbH from Cologne for the donation.

adtension_3.jpg

Donations after volcanic eruption, Indonesia

After the volcanic eruption in October 2010 on the island of Java, the patron for Indonesia asked us if Armut Bekämpfen.de could possibly collect money for the victims. After a few emails, Gameduell agreed to donate something, unfortunately the Christmas donation was already planned elsewhere, but for January 2011 it could work out and so it did. From Bali we flew to Yogjakarta on Java, home of one of the seven wonders of the world because of the Bodobudur temple and visited one of many refugee camps - many thousands are homeless and have lost everything. In some places, whole villages are buried under the ash, some up to twenty metres high. The refugee camps were provided by Lions Club Java, among others, as well as food and clothing for about one thousand people. The donation from Gameduell was invested in school bags/backpacks, shoes and school uniforms - first of all for about 200 children, the rest of the money was used to support other children in other refugee camps in a similar way.

ref_15.jpg

Playground, Thailand

The playground had been planned for a long time, but unfortunately there was no budget available for the 120 children of the kindergarten. The originally planned playground was sold and only available again after 3 months. The emergency solution was a display piece for € 7,000 with a 50% discount, as the colour had already faded a little in the sun. The construction took place on a Friday, all day long, at about 39 degrees Celsius. The inauguration took place on Saturday in the presence of Pattaya TV, Pattaya Newspaper as well as the responsible persons of the Father Ray Foundation and the children who were so happy.

ref_10.jpg

Skate Park, Afghanistan

Karokh is a suburb of Kabul. In cooperation with the foundation of one of our patrons, Titus Dittmann (www.skate-aid.org) and Dr. Rupert Neudeck (co-founder and chairman of the international peace corps Grünhelme e. V., www.gruenhelme.de), the first concrete skate park / skateboard track in Central Asia was built for 7,500 pupils at a school in Karokh, Afghansitan. The planning was done by the owner of www.betonlandschaften.de / landscape architects Ralf Maier.

09.jpg

Visit orphanages, Vietnam

Originally, the orphanages Xom Chieu Orphanage and An Lac in Saigon were to be visited, but since Mr. Thai Son Vu, owner of Long Son Ltd, recommended that Michael visit orphanages outside the city centre of Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon, the plan changed. Most of Mr. Vu's staff come from similar institutions, so he supported us with his personal driver, as well as a field worker from one of the three orphanages, who acted as an interpreter. Orphanages and similar institutions in Vietnam are only financially supported and promoted if they are close to the city; institutions outside the centre do not receive any support. As we at Poverty Alleviation like to help where the need is greatest, we accepted the recommendation to visit orphanages outside the city centre of Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon.

 

In addition to donations in kind in the form of toys, stuffed animals, clothes, shoes or similar items, we help on site with urgently needed daily necessities. Before visiting the orphanages, we bought milk, powdered milk (for toddlers and babies), soap, shower gel, toothpaste, toothbrushes, soup, biscuits and detergent for 1.2 million Dong (Vietnamese currency) / approx. 120 Euros.

 

The first institution we visited was the Linh Son Monastery, which could only be found with local help. The institution supports and promotes mentally handicapped children, who are hidden by their families in Vietnam under normal circumstances. The ladies / housemothers of the facility were completely surprised by our unexpected visit and were very happy about the food. The children, on the other hand, who have been abandoned by their parents (in the local belief this is a consequence of bad karma from a previous life) and own nothing except the clothes they have, were so happy about the stuffed animals, T-shirts and shoes that it was hard to believe..... Especially when you compare this with the consumer behaviour of children of the same age in Germany. In our photo gallery, you can see under which circumstances the children in Linh Son Monastery live.

101_0867small.jpg

Chua Tien Phuoc Orphanage, Vietnam

The second institution was "Chua Tien Phuoc", which is supported by UNILEVER with food and technical means. The orphanage was very small, the school was in the house opposite, where the older children were taught on the computer, among other things. We showed up for lunch and the children were surprised by our visit and shyly and delightedly awaited our gifts in the form of clothes, toys and food. Babies were also cared for here (see pictures). A mentally handicapped child in the playpen was fed and was completely apathetic, one of the women kept saying "Baby Mad, Baby Mad", meaning the child is crazy. Michel gave the child a stuffed animal in the shape of a bear with a chef's uniform and after a while the child laughed and was happy that someone was dealing with him. 

vietnam2010_2.jpg

Visit orphanages, Vietnam

The third and last establishment we visited that day was the "Khanh Tam Open House". It should be noted, however, that the road conditions and traffic are somewhat "different" than in Europe. Our trip to the orphanages started and ended in Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon, we drove about 100 km and were on the road for almost 12 hours. This institution also primarily cares for orphans and mentally handicapped children. As we couldn't find the orphanage directly, we called there and were welcomed with a welcome song... Here, too, we handed over toys, clothes as well as food and they didn't want to let us go - a very nice experience. As Michel appeared unshaven and with a sack / bag full of toys, many children thought he was Father Christmas and sang a Christmas carol - can you believe it?

vietnam2010_3.jpg

Father Ray Foundation, Thailand

On his second visit to the Father Ray Foundation in Pattaya, Chonburi Province Thailand, Michel saw tremendous progress at "The Village" (an SOS Children's Village-like facility). Many of the children recognised Michel from his first visit in 2008 and the reception was magnificent. Of course, the children were also delighted with the stuffed animals, food and clothes they brought with them. During our visit to the village, we discovered that four more houses had been built since Michel's last visit, in addition to the four already existing houses. These were nearing completion and we were invited to the grand opening ceremony - unfortunately Michel was already on his way back at that time. Donors and investors are welcome to take over the sponsorship for such a house; houses of this kind for six to eight children incl. "House Mommy" including all facilities (sanitary, furniture, etc.) are possible for about 20,000 Euros.

father_ray.jpg

Father Ray Foundation, Pataya

He was already familiar with the foundation due to Michel's professional activities in Thailand (2005 - 2006). Father Ray Brennan built a large foundation from nothing, which consists of "The Village", "Drop In Center", "Day Care Center", "School for Blind Children", "Childrens Home", "Home for Street Kids" and the "Handicapped School".

Father Ray passed away in 2005 but his legacy is carried on by a multitude of supporters. Brother Dennis, the head of the institution, was formerly one of the leading IBM programmers in Canada; he gave up this promising career and now runs the "Fr. Ray Foundation" with great success. A large team of volunteers (including German volunteers doing a social year) from all over the world help and support the foundation. They receive free board and lodging and actively help in all projects 6 days a week and teach the children e.g. English. Furthermore, the foundation is supported by various social workers of the city of Pataya, who find children from the slum areas (27 official ones in Pataya alone), support them and bring them into the home after consultation with the often overburdened parents.

ref_1.jpg

Orphanage, Thailand

Currently, about 80 children between the ages of 3 and 15 live in the village. The project was founded by Europeans living in Thailand after the tsunami disaster in 2004. With their help and the support of the Thai government, a plot of land was purchased on which a complete orphanage with individual houses was built. This model is based on the international SOS Children's Villages, as is the case with the Father Ray Foundation in Pataya. The facility was built by the French Red Cross and financed with donations. Everything is in a new and immaculate condition. Monetary donations to purchase food and learning materials such as books or computers are of course always welcome.

ref_8.jpg

Orphanage, Indonesia

This orphanage is run by nuns of the Franciscan order. The orphanage in Indonesia differs significantly from other orphanages because it is Christian-run and not Muslim. Like the state institutions, it does not receive any support or funding. Consequently, this institution can only be maintained through donations in kind and financial support. Approximately 100 young girls and boys are cared for at any one time without being judged by their religion, and even children over 17 are not simply turned away after their time, as is usually the case in other Christian institutions. On the contrary, the nuns are happy to have any happy person under their roof. The children range in age from 3 years old to young adults and everyone helps out.

Children from all parts of Indonesia are sent to Bali from the local Christian Franciscan communities where poverty is even greater, such as Java, Jakarta, Timor, Surabaya or Flores. If you are in Bali, please stop by. Clothes, school supplies like pencils or paper are always welcome. You will be surprised to find children in a good mood and happy and how much they can appreciate stuffed animals, a T-shirt or even crayons.

Address :

Bali Franciscan Orphanage

Tuka Indonesian: Panti Asuhan Katolik Jln Raya Tuka Desa Tuka Bngr Dalung Bali Indonesia November 200

bali2009.jpg

Drop In Center, Thailand

The "Drop In Centre" can be compared to a youth centre. Many rural children run away from home and follow the lights of big cities like Bangkok, Pukhet or Pattaya. Television suggests these cities to them, as places of fun and happiness. Some spend months on the road and realise when they arrive that they can't have fun there without money. Since they have no home, the only option left is drug dealing or prostitution. The "Drop In Centre" offers the children a place where they can sleep, attend school and receive medical treatment. Living on the streets, many children have skin and chest infections, injuries from gang wars and of course sexually transmitted diseases.

ref_4.jpg

Street Kid Home, Thailand

This is where the journey ends for many children after an odyssey and a life on the streets, as described above, many think that life is easier in big cities than in the countryside, where many end up selling their bodies to survive. The "Street Kid Home" has existed since 2005 and has space for 400 children, many of whom quickly disappear again because they are not used to following rules. Here too, the Father Ray Foundation tries to provide an environment that offers family structures and such an environment, even if this is not always successful.

ref_5.jpg

Father Ray School For Blind Children

The school for the blind in Pattaya is also very special, as there is nothing else like it; the school has existed since 1986 and serves as a primary and secondary school for blind and nearly blind children. Besides schooling, the children are taught all the skills for an independent / self-reliant life. The school is under the patronage of Her Majesty Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, who visited the school in 1986 and 2007. So far, more than 400 students have graduated from this school. As computer skills are essential in any job nowadays, the children are taught Braille on computers and Thai and English are also taught. There are classes from kindergarten to grade 9, and some go on to "normal" schools and graduate from grade 12.

ref_7.jpg

The Village

The Village is run under similar circumstances and structures as SOS Children's Villages; it is a place where orphans, abandoned children and children in difficult circumstances feel they have a home and a family. Competent and trained mothers and volunteers and social workers, give the children a sense of security, love, inspiration, support and encouragement, which helps and encourages them to take a place in society.

ref_2.jpg
bottom of page

Unsere Projekte

In den vergangenen 15 Jahren, hat "Armut Bekämpfen" verschiedene Projekte ins Leben gerufen oder unterstützt.  Einsatzorte dieser Projekte waren zahlreiche Entwicklungsländer, wie Indien, Thailand, Indonesien und Nordafrika.

Spenden &
Erfahrungen

Yogyakarta, Indonesien

Vulkan Merapi in Yogyakarta Indonesien. Verängstige Anwohner in der aktiven Stadt Yogyakarta mit 400.000 Einwohnern, am Fuße des Berges und Vulkanes Merapi rumpelte es mehrmals, die Bewohner bestiegen Busse und Züge, um Obdach bei Familien und Freunden in entfernten Städten zu finden. Bedenken bezüglich Aschewolken veranlassten viele internationale Fluggesellschaften Flüge in die Hauptstadt Jakarta abzusagen. Dies geschah wenige Tage vor dem geplanten Besuch des ehemaligen US-Präsidenten Barack Obama in Indonesien. Der Merapi Vulkan, einer der aktivsten Vulkane weltweit, ist in den vergangenen 100 Jahren oft ausgebrochen und forderte über 1.400 Opfer. Aber der Ausbruch im November, war der bislang tragischste seit 1930. Er forderte über 100 Menschenleben. Die Stadt Yogyakarta wurde in die höchste Alarmstufe berufen, die Stadt diente als Kanal für die tödlichen Lava- und Schlammströme, unterstützt durch starke Regenfälle bekamen diese eine Geschwindigkeit von 100 km/h und zerstörten, alles was sich im Weg befand. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte bereits eine dicke Schicht aus vulkanischen Schlamm ein Viertel des naheliegenden Flusses überschwemmt und stieg stündlich an. Nahezu 280.000 Menschen, welche an den Hängen des Vulkans lebten, wurden in Notunterkünften untergebracht – viele ohne die Möglichkeit sich zu waschen oder die Toilette aufzusuchen.

vulkan_02.jpg

Bildung für Bergkinder, Indien

Ausbildung ist ein lebenswichtiger Schlüssel, um extreme Armut zu bekämpfen und den betroffenen Kindern einen Auweg zu bieten. Durch dieses Programm werden die Kinder mit spezieller Aufmerksamkeit unterstützt und das Problem von Schulabbrechern in Schulen wird minimiert, auch werden langsamere Schüler ausreichend gefördert, um die Gelegenheit zu bekommen Sachkenntnisse zu verbessern. Die Begünstigungen des Projektes kommen Stammeskinder von 16 Stammesdörfern der Palanimalai Hügel Region zugute, welche Opfer von Gewalt, Halbwaisen, Zurückgewiesen oder von Eltern vernachlässig worden sind und intakte Familienstukturen in Form von Liebe und Wärme nie kennenlernen durften. Jede dieser Familien erhalten eine Ziege welche ihnen eine wirtschaftliche Unterstützung und Sicherheit geben wird, ähnlich wie bei dem Nobel Preis prämierten Micro Kredit Projekt. Im Anschluss an das Projekt, werden die Familien in der Lage sein, sich selbst partiell zu finanzieren.

hilltribe.jpg

Projekt "Mini Van", Thailand

Das Father Ray Children's Village nach dem Konzept der SOS Kinderdörfer öffnete seine Pforten Anfang 2008 mit dem Ziel, ein Zuhause für arme, mittellose, missbrauchte und verstoßene Kinder zu errichten. In dem Village leben die Kinder in einer für uns normalen familiären Umgebung zusammen mit anderen Kindern. Die Kinder werden von speziell geschultem Personal unterstützt und betreut. Mit Hilfe dieser Umgebung, soll den Kindern eine Perspektive geboten werden, die Raum für persönliche Entwicklung und familiärer Unterstützung bietet. Seit Beginn des Projektes sind nunmehr 26 Kinder in ihr neues Heim eingezogen, von diesen sind bereits 22 in diverseren Schulen untergebracht worden. 2008 wurden bereits vier Häuser gebaut, weitere vier Häuser folgten 2009, um weitere 26 –30 Kindern ein Heim zu bieten. Für die Fortbewegung wurden Mini Vans mit gemeinsamen Spendengeldern aufgetrieben, ein großes Danke!

mini_van.jpg

Medikamente, Afrika

In vielen Ländern in Afrika grassiert Leishmaniose, das bedeutet für die Menschen – die meisten Nomaden - dass diese in den Sommermonaten von Sandflöhen befallen werden. Da geeignete Hygiene und Medikamente schlichtweg zu teuer sind, bat ein Bekannter aus Marokko Michel um Hilfe. Die Firma Adtension GmbH spendete sofort 200 Euro, welche wir im Mai 2012 übergeben konnten. Die Medikamente werden –aufgrund der Hitze- erst im Spätsommer gekauft und verabreicht. An diesem Tag konnten wir viel Freude bereiten. Auf diesem Wege nochmals vielen Dank an Adtension GmbH aus Köln für die Spende.

adtension_3.jpg

Spenden nach Vulkanausbruch, Indonesien

Die Schirmherrin für Indonesien fragte uns nach dem Vulkanausbruch im Oktober 2010 auf der Insel Java, ob Armut Bekämpfen.de eventuell Geld für die Opfer sammeln könnte. Nach einigen Emails erklärte Gameduell bereit, etwas zu spenden, leider war die Weihnachtsspende bereits anderweitig verplant, aber für Januar 2011 könnte es klappen und so war es auch. Von Bali flogen wir nach Yogjakarta auf Java, Heimat eins der sieben Weltwunder wegen des Bodobudur Tempels und besuchten eines von vielen Flüchtlingscamps – viele tausend sind obdachlos und haben restlos alles verloren. An manchen Stellen sind ganze Dörfer unter der Asche –teilweise bis zu zwanzig Meter hoch – begraben. Die Flüchtlingscamps wurden unter anderem von Lions Club Java gestellt, so auch Essen und Kleidung für circa eintausend Menschen. Die Spende von Gameduell wurde für Schultaschen / Rucksäcke, Schuhe und Schuluniformen investiert – zuallererst für circa 200 Kinder, mit dem Rest des Geldes wurden andere Kinder in anderen Flüchtlingslagern ähnlich unterstützt.

ref_15.jpg

Spielplatz, Thailand

Der Spielplatz war lange geplant, leider stand kein Budget zur Verfügung für die 120 Kinder des Kindergartens. Der ursprüngliche geplante Spielplatz war verkauft und erst wieder nach 3 Monaten lieferbar. Die Notlösung war ein Ausstellungsstück für € 7.000 mit 50 % Nachlass, da die Farbe in der Sonne bereits etwas ausgeblichen war. Der Aufbau erfolgte an einem Freitag ganztägig bei ca. 39 Grad Celsius. Die Einweihung erfolgte Samstags im Beisein von Pattaya TV, Pattaya Newspaper sowie den Verantwortlichen der Father Ray Foundation und den vor freudigen Kindern.

ref_10.jpg

Skatepark, Afghanistan

Karokh ist eine Vorort von Kabul, hier wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung eines unserer Schirmherren Titus Dittmann (www.skate-aid.org) und mit Dr. Rupert Neudeck (Mitbegründer und Vorsitzenden des internationalen Friedenskorps Grünhelme e. V., www.gruenhelme.de) wurde bei einer Schule in Karokh, Afghansitan, für 7.500 Schüler, der erste Betonskatepark / Skateboard Bahn in Zentralasien errichtet. Die Planung erfolgte durch den Inhaber von www.betonlandschaften.de / Landschaftsarchitekten Ralf Maier.

09.jpg

Besuch Waisenhäuser, Vietnam

Ursprünglich sollten die Waisenhäuser Xom Chieu Orphanage und An Lac in Saigon besucht werden, da Mr. Thai Son Vu, Inhaber der Long Son Ltd., aber empfahl, Michael doch Waisenhäuser außerhalb des Stadtzentrums von Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon  besuchen zu lassen, änderte sich der Plan. Einen Großteil der Mitarbeiter von Mr. Vu stammen aus vergleichbaren Einrichtungen, aus diesem Grund unterstützte er uns mit seinem persönlichen Fahrer, sowie einen Außendienstmitarbeiter, welcher aus einem der drei Waisenhäuser stammte; dieser fungierte als Dolmetscher. Waisenhäuser und vergleichbare Einrichtungen in Vietnam werden ausschließlich finanziell unterstützt und gefördert, sofern diese in Stadtnähe sind; Einrichtungen außerhalb des Zentrums erhalten keinerlei Unterstützung. Da wir von Armut Bekämpfen gerne dort helfen, wo der Bedarf am größten ist, nahmen wir die Empfehlung an, Waisenhäuser außerhalb des Stadtzentrums von Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon zu besuchen. Neben Sachspenden in Form von Spielwaren, Stofftieren, Kleidung, Schuhen oder Ähnlichem, helfen wir vor Ort gezielt mit dringend notwendig benötigten Dingen des täglichen Lebens. Vor dem Besuch der Waisenhäuser haben wir für 1.2 Millionen Dong (vietnamesische Währung) / ca. 120 Euro Milch, Milchpulver (für Kleinkinder und Babys), Seife, Duschgel, Zahnpasta, Zahnbürsten, Suppe, Kekse und Waschmittel gekauft.

 

Die erste Einrichtung die wir besuchten, war das "Linh Son Monastery" dieses war nur mit ortskundiger Hilfe zu finden. Die Einrichtung unterstützt und fördert geistig behinderte Kinder, welche in Vietnam unter normalen Umständen von deren Familien versteckt werden. Die Damen / Hausmütter der Einrichtung waren völlig überrascht von unserem unerwarteten Besuch und freuten sich sehr über die Lebensmittel. Die Kinder hingegen, die von ihren Eltern verstoßen (dies ist im lokalen Glauben eine Folge von schlechtem Karma aus einem vorherigen Leben) und nichts besitzen, außer den Kleider die sie haben, freuten sich so sehr über die Stofftiere, T-Shirts und Schuhe, dass man es kaum glauben mochte…. Insbesondere wenn man dies mit dem Konsumverhalten gleichaltriger Kinder bei uns in Deutschland vergleicht. In unserer Fotogalerie, sehen Sie, unter welchen Umständen die Kinder im Linh Son Monastery leben.

101_0867small.jpg

Waisenhaus Chua Tien Phuoc, Vietnam

Die zweite Einrichtung, war "Chua Tien Phuoc", diese Einrichtung wird unter anderen von UNILEVER mit Lebensmittel und technischen Mitteln unterstützt. Das Waisenhaus war äußerst klein, im Haus gegenüber war die Schule, in welcher die älteren Kinder unter anderem am Computer unterrichtet wurden. Wir erschienen zum Mittagessen und die Kinder waren überrascht über den Besuch unsererseits und erwarteten schüchtern und hocherfreut unsere Mitbringsel in Form von Kleidung, Spielsachen und Lebensmittel. Hier wurden auch Babys versorgt (siehe Bilder). Ein geistig behindertes Kind im Laufstahl wurde gefüttert und war völlig apathisch, eine der Frauen sagte ständig „Baby Mad, Baby Mad“, das sollte heißen, das Kind ist verrückt. Michel gab dem Kind ein Stofftier in Form eines Bären mit Kochuniform und nach einiger Zeit lachte das Kind und freute sich, dass sich jemand mit ihm beschäftigte. 

vietnam2010_2.jpg

Besuch Waisenhäuser, Vietnam

Die dritte und letzte Einrichtung, die wir an diesem Tag besuchten, war das "Khanh Tam Open House". Man sollte allerdings anmerken, dass die Straßenverhältnisse sowie der Verkehr etwas „anders“ ist als in Europa. Unser Trip zu den Waisenhäusern begann und endete in Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon, gefahren wurden ca. 100 km und wir waren nahezu 12 Stunden unterwegs. Auch in dieser Einrichtung werden in erster Linie Waisen und geistig behinderte Kinder betreut. Da wir das Waisenhaus nicht direkt fanden, riefen wir dort an und wurden mit einem Willkommenslied empfangen… Auch hier übergaben wir Spielsachen, Kleidung wie auch Lebensmittel und man wollte uns gar nicht gehen lassen – ein sehr schönes Erlebnis. Da Michel unrasiert und mit einem Sack / Beutel voller Spielwaren dort erschien, dachten viele Kinder er sei der Weihnachtsmann und sangen ein Weihnachtslied – kann man das glauben?

vietnam2010_3.jpg

Father Day Foundation, Thailand

Beim zweiten Besuch der Father Ray Foundation in Pattaya, Chonburi Province Thailand sah Michel einen gewaltigen Fortschritt bei „The Village“ (einer SOS-Kinderdorf ähnlichen Einrichtung). Viele der Kinder erkannten Michel von seinem ersten Besuch im Jahr 2008 wieder und der Empfang war grandios. Natürlich freuten sich die Kinder auch über die mitgebrachten Stofftiere, Lebensmittel und Kleidung. Beim Besuch beim Village, stellten wir fest, dass seit Michels letzten Besuch, neben den bereits bestehenden vier Häusern, vier weitere Häuser gebaut wurden, diese waren kurz vor der Fertigstellung und man lud uns zur großen Eröffnungsfeier ein – leider war Michel zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits auf seiner Rückreise. Spender und Investoren können die Patenschaft für ein solches Haus gerne übernehmen; Häuser dieser Art für sechs bis acht Kinder incl. "House Mommy" inklusive aller Einrichtungen (Sanitär, Möbel, etc.) sind für circa 20.000 Euro möglich.

father_ray.jpg

Father Day Stiftung, Pataya

Aufgrund Michels beruflichen Tätigkeit in Thailand (2005 - 2006) war ihm die Stiftung bereits bekannt. Vater Ray Brennan baute aus dem Nichts eine große Stiftung, welche sich aus "The Village", "Drop In Center“, "Day Care Center“, "School for Blind Children“, "Childrens Home“, "Home for Street Kids“ sowie der "Handicaped School“ zusammensetzt.

Vater Ray verstarb 2005 aber sein Erbe wird von einer Vielzahl von Unterstützern weitergeführt. Brother Dennis, der Leiter der Institution war früher einer der führenden IBM Programmierer in Canada; er gab diese Erfolgsversprechende Karriere auf und leitet nun die „Fr. Ray Foundation“ mit großem Erfolg. In einem großen Team von Freiwilligen (auch deutsche welche ein soziales Jahr absolvieren) aus aller Welt hilft und unterstützt die Stiftung. Sie erhalten Kost + Logis frei und helfen in allen Projekten 6 Tage die Woche aktiv mit und unterrichten die Kinder z.B. in Englisch. Weiterhin wird die Stiftung von diversen Sozialarbeitern der Stadt Pataya unterstützt, welche Kinder aus den Slum-Areas (allein 27 offizielle in Pataya) finden, unterstützen und nach Rücksprache mit den oft überlasteten Eltern, ins Heim holen.

ref_1.jpg

Waisenhaus, Thailand

Derzeit leben im Dorf ca. 80 Kinder im Alter von 3 - 15 Jahren. Das Projekt wurde nach der Tsunami Katastrophe 2004 von in Thailand lebenden Europäern gegründet. Durch deren Hilfe und mit Unterstützung der thailändischen Regierung konnte ein Grundstück erworben werden, auf dem ein komplettes Waisenhaus mit einzelnen Häusern erbaut wurde. Dieses Model lehnt sich an die internationalen SOS Kinderdörfer an, wie auch bei der Father Ray Stiftung in Pataya. Die Einrichtung wurde vom französischen Roten Kreuz erbaut und mit Spendengeldern finanziert. Alles ist in einem neuen und einwandfreien Zustand. Geldspenden zur Beschaffung von Lebensmitteln und für die Anschaffung von Lernmaterialen wie Bücher oder Computer sind natürlich jederzeit willkommen.

ref_8.jpg

Waisenhaus, Indonesien

Dieses Waisenhaus wird von Nonnen des Franziskaner Ordens geführt. Das Waisenhaus in Indonesien unterscheidet sich maßgeblich von anderen Waisenhäusern; da es christlich geführt ist und nicht muslimisch. Wie die staatlichen Einrichtungen, erhält es keinerlei Unterstützung oder Förderung. Folglich kann diese Institution ausschließlich durch Sach- und Finanzspenden aufrechterhalten werden. Circa 100 junge Mädchen und Jungs, werden zur selben Zeit versorgt ohne eine Beurteilung nach deren Religion, sogar Kinder über 17, werden nach Ihrer Zeit nicht einfach abgewiesen, wie es sonst bei anderen christlichen Einrichtungen üblich ist. Im Gegenteil, die Nonnen freuen sich über jede glückliche Person unter deren Dach. Die Kinder sind im Alter zwischen 3 Jahren und jungen Erwachsenen und jeder hilft mit.

Kinder aus allen Teilen Indonesiens werden von den lokalen christlichen Franziskaner Gemeinden, in welchen die Armut noch größer ist, wie z.B. Java, Jakarta, Timor, Surabaya or Flores nach Bali geschickt. Sollten Sie in Bali sein, schauen Sie doch dort vorbei. Kleidung, Schulutensilien wie Stifte oder Papier sind immer willkommen. Sie werden überrascht sein, gut gelaunte und glückliche Kinder vorzufinden und wie sehr sie sich freuen können über Stofftiere, ein T-Shirt oder aber über Malstifte.

Adresse :

Bali Franciscan Orphanage

Tuka Indonesian: Panti Asuhan Katolik Jln Raya Tuka Desa Tuka Bngr Dalung Bali Indonesia November 200

bali2009.jpg

Drop In Center, Thailand

Das "Drop In Center“ ist mit einem Jugendzentrum zu vergleichen. Viele Kinder vom Land laufen von zu Hause weg und folgen den Lichtern der Großstädte wie Bangkok, Pukhet oder Pattaya. Das Fernsehen suggeriert Ihnen diese Städte, als Orte des Spaßes und des Glücks. Manche sind Monate unterwegs und stellen bei Ihrer Ankunft fest, dass Sie dort ohne Geld keinen Spaß haben können. Da Sie kein Zuhause haben bleibt nur noch die Option des Drogenhandels oder der Prostitution. Das "Drop In Center" bietet den Kindern einen Ort, wo Sie schlafen können, die Schule besuchen können und ärztlich behandelt werden. Durch das Leben auf der Straße haben viele Kinder Haut- und Brustentzündungen, Verletzungen von Bandenkriegen und natürlich von durch Sex übertragenen Krankheiten.

ref_4.jpg

Street Kid Home, Thailand

Hier endet für viele Kinder die Reise nach einer Odyssee und einem Leben auf der Straße, wie bereits oben beschrieben, denken viele, dass das Leben in großen Städten einfacher sei als auf dem Land, dort enden viele damit ihren Körper zu verkaufen, um überleben zu können. Das „Street Kid Home“ gibt es seit 2005 und hat Platz für 400 Kinder, viele verschwinden schnell wieder, da sie es nicht gewohnt sind Regeln zu befolgen. Auch hier versucht die Father Ray Stiftung eine Umgebung zu bieten, welche familiäre Strukturen und ein solches Umfeld bietet, auch wenn dies nicht immer gelingt.

ref_5.jpg

Father Ray School For Blind Children

Auch die Blindenschule in Pattaya ist etwas ganz Besonderes, da es etwas in dieser Art sonst nicht gibt; die Schule besteht seit 1986 und dient als Grundschule und weiterführende Schule für Blinde und nahezu blinde Kinder. Neben der Schulbildung, werden den Kindern alle Fähigkeiten für ein eigenständiges / selbstständiges Leben vermittelt. Die Schule steht unter der Schirmherrschaft Ihrer Majestät Prinzessin Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, welche die Schule 1986 und 2007 besuchte. Bislang haben mehr als 400 Schüler diese Schule abgeschlossen. Da heutzutage in jedem Job Computer Kenntnisse elementar sind, werden die Kinder an Computern in Braille Schrift unterrichtet; weiterhin werden Sie in Thai und Englisch unterrichtet. Es gibt Klassen von Kindergarten, bis hin zur 9. Klasse, manche gehen im Anschluss auf "normale" Schulen und machen Ihren Abschluss der 12. Klasse.

ref_7.jpg

The Village

Die "Village" wird unter ähnlichen Umständen und Strukturen gehandhabt wie auch SOS Kinderdörfer; es ist ein Platz der Waisenkinder, verstoßene oder ausgesetzte Kinder und Kinder in schwierigen Lebenslagen, das Gefühl geben, ein Zuhause und eine Familie zu haben. Kompetente und geschulte Mütter und freiwillige Helfer und Sozialarbeiter, geben den Kindern ein Gefühl der Geborgenheit, Liebe, Inspiration, Unterstützung und Ermutigung, welche den Kindern hilft bzw. sie ermutigt, einen Platz in der Gesellschaft einzunehmen.

ref_2.jpg